Home News & Announcements Six from NCC Vo-Tech Win Mayor’s Scholarships

Text size: A A A
Six from NCC Vo-Tech Win Mayor’s Scholarships

Six from NCC Vo-Tech Win Mayor’s Scholarships

Wilmington Mayor, Mike Purzycki has awarded $30,000 in academic scholarships to twenty-four high school seniors, six of whom are NCC Vo-Tech graduates! A ceremony was held on Thursday, July 6, in the City Council Chambers for the students and their families. Each graduate became eligible for the Mayor’s award by being a Wilmington resident, attaining a 2.5 GPA or better, demonstrating service and leadership, writing an essay and providing references, among other requirements.

Scholarship Recipients:

From St. Georges, Jaelyn DeJesus won a $2,000 scholarship.

From Delcastle, Tamia Abuwi won a $1,750 scholarship; Maya Knox-St. Paul and Nikai Morales each won a $1,000 scholarship.

From Hodgson, Kenanna Hill and Derek Stanford each won $1,000 scholarship.

“It is one of the greatest pleasures of my job to be able to support young people who are eager to continue their education goals and rank among the City’s best and brightest. It is an honor for me to be with them and their families,” said Mayor Purzycki.